16-20 Apr 2018 Aix-Marseille University, Saint Charles campus, 3 place Victor Hugo, 13003 Marseille (France) (France)

Main Objective

The main objective of this working session is to provide a discussion platform for current modelling and development activities across the participating Work Packages and Projects. The emphasis is on identifying open issues, urgent near- and midterm requirements and possible collaborations and proposals for supporting experiments within EUROfusion.

Program

Plasma boundary properties, material erosion & migration, fuel retention and formation of mixed materials in a tokamak device are closely linked. The description of the underlying processes within a self-consistent model is the main subject of current code development and validation. Code validation and interpretation of experiments by modelling are part of the programme of EUROfusion Work Packages (WPs) JET1, MST1, PFC, CD, PMI, and ADC as well as different Enabling Research projects (ENR). This working session aims at exchanging information and knowledge between the participating WPs and ENR projects on scrape-off layer (SOL), edge and plasma-wall interaction (PWI) modelling and their interfaces as well as discussing current key issues for advancing the modelling work across the different WPs and ENR projects. Particular emphasis will be put on scenarios encountered in devices with an all-metal wall configuration. Future benchmarking experiments and code development e.g. regarding implementation of missing physics and extension of the computational domain will also be discussed.

Venue

The host, Aix-Marseille University, France, will provide the meeting room in Saint Charles campus and organize a pool of pre-booked rooms in the Golden Tulip Marseille Euromed hotel, located within a walking distance from the campus (less than 20 minutes). The campus is also connected via the subway line 1 plus five minutes walking to the hotel. In the evenings you can tune up your appetite with French cuisine and hospitality. We encourage all the participants to join the common dinners which have traditionally been an integral part of the meeting.

Accomodation

A number of rooms have been pre-booked in the Golden Tulip hotel at a negotiated rate of 110 € /night (incl. breakfast). Please to give the code “LABO PIIM” when booking at reservations@goldentulipmarseilleeuromed.com. The lunches and coffee breaks are kindly provided by the Physics of Ionics and Molecular Interaction (PIIM) Laboratoryat Aix-Marseille University and the Magnetically Controlled Research Federation (FR-FCM, http://fr-fcm.fr/), while the dinners have been organized at the Golden Tulip hotel (~26-36 €/evening). The estimated costs fit into the Unit Cost scheme of EUROfusion in the form of Mission Support.

Transportation

Marseille is well connected to the major European cities via the international airport. Every 15 minutes shuttles (http://www.navettemarseilleaeroport.com/index.php) directly connect the airport to the Marseille Saint Charles train station, located in front of the University.

   

Scientific Organization

Scientific organizers

Dmitry Borodin d.borodin@fz-juelich.de

Antti Hakola antti.hakola@vtt.fi

Supported by

Sven Wiesen s.wiesen@fz-juelich.de

Marco Wischmeier marco.wischmeier@ipp.mpg.de

Karl Krieger krieger@ipp.mpg.de

Yves Ferro yves.ferro@univ-amu.fr

Klaus Schmid klaus.Schmid@ipp.mpg.de

Andreas Kirschner a.kirschner@fz-juelich.de

Local organizers

Online user: 1